Motivate

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday, that is, if you had any holidays to celebrate since I last updated (it was July 4th for me in the USA).

At work today I found myself struggling to focus (I have ADHD but more on that in a later episode) and as a result, I fell into a slump where I was just unable to motivate myself to do anything productive. Of course, advice came through to “JUST DO IT” but hearing that only goes so far, Shia. I took to the only place I could think of where I could both procrastinate and possibly find help: YouTube.

I searched “motivation to do work” (after watching a couple other videos, of course) and it returned a few results for what I was searching. One of them gave me what is probably the best advice I’ve heard in a while:

“Imagine right now someone’s watching you right now, modeling you, what kind of standard do you wanna set? What kind of role model do you wanna be? Discipline yourself to always be on [that level].”

Wow. Just let that sink in for a moment. Then honestly imagine that at every moment you’ve got someone there that’s supposed to be under your guidance. I don’t necessarily mean a child though I suppose it works here. I believe that we should all strive to leave the world a better place than when we first arrived. One of the ways we accomplish this is by influencing those around us, those younger than us that will have the chance to influence the generations after them, and for the better if we did it right. Without getting into a long thread about morals and such, I’d like to assert here that it’s my belief that the best way to influence others is by being the best version of ourselves that we can be at all times. Of course, I haven’t followed this plan to perfection but it helps me strive to be a better person. They say that “imitation is the sincerest form of flattery” and by setting the best example we possibly can we can ensure that we are sending forth even better and brighter generations to take our place.

“Well yeah but I mean, I don’t have this little dude just taggin’ along everywhere, man. Besides, what I do in my private time is my own business.”

While you’d kind of have a point there, I’d like to also remind you of a word: Integrity. Basically, it means to do the right thing when no one is looking.

I’m far from qualified to preach about doing the right thing all the time; I’ve definitely had my fair share of “moral hiccups”. The point, however, remains that even in your own private time you should be working to better yourself in some way. In my case, I have a lot of downtime/me time at work because I have my own office away from everyone and it’s JUST slow enough of a job to have some long patches in the day where I’m left to wonder “Now what?”. I try to combat this with double checking the work I’ve already done, trying to plan ahead for the future, and occasionally google searching some new and interesting thing so that my mind doesn’t go flat.

Today, aiming to be motivated and fulfill that sense of integrity allowed me to light a fire inside myself and complete the monthly report a day ahead of schedule.

I think what it boils down to is this: We are programmed to keep moving forward in life, to experience new things, and sometimes we hit a speed bump. It’s important to know that it’s ok to hit that speed bump so long as we don’t let it affect our work or personal lives for longer than it takes to realize that we’ve hit it. Once we realize it, we need to find the motivation to keep going and to be better than we were before we hit that bump. For some, it’s because they want to stay employed, others just don’t want to disappoint those they love or view as important, and others still simply have something to prove to themselves or someone else.

What’s your motivation? What keeps you going when you’re in a slump? Let me know in the comments; I’d love to hear from you!

-J

P.S. Perhaps in another blog I’ll write about some other ways I’ve found the motivation to things other than YouTube videos!

Leave a Reply

