Life In The Slow Lane

I was waiting until the weekend was actually over to write this because I wanted to enjoy as much of it as I could before doing… well, anything.

This weekend was all about relaxing and doing as little as possible… and it was perfect.  Friday ended with a stroll through the farmer’s market right outside my work which lead home to the couch when we decided “wouldn’t it be fun to blow up our queen sized air mattress and sprawl out on the living room floor for the weekend?” The answer was, of course, yes. So after some time trying to blow it up with a blow dryer, I took over “manually” and let me tell you, giving a mattress a blowjob is just as weird as it sounds. We stayed up till 1:30 AM watching Netflix and enjoying our evening.

Saturday started off a bit earlier than we had probably wanted, having stayed up so late the night before. Cereal for me, omelet and potatoes for her, the morning went smoothly…. until my mom called. Don’t worry though, nothing bad. In fact, apparently, I’d forgot about a conversation I’d had with her a couple weeks back where we’d discussed meeting up when her friend came here from Pennsylvania. We shuffled slowly through the afternoon, splitting time between washing and cleaning both cars and relaxing. Eventually, the four of us went to Olive Garden for a pleasant meet-up. My mom, her friend, and I are all Marine Corps veterans so it was neat to be able to “talk shop” amongst the three of us. Brownie sundaes and more Netflix ended our night.

Today, the final day of our lazy weekend, started off…. very nicely. I played some games on Steam for awhile (the Steam Summer Sale is happening so I maybe got a few new games to play, sorry not sorry, bank account) while we waited for her family to drop by as they do every Sunday. More games, more “Netflix N’ Chill™” and finally some homemade cheesesteaks and tater bits for dinner rounded out our weekend quite pleasurably.

So, all-in-all it was a wonderful weekend spent mostly relaxing and doing nothing, while still finding time for those we love. It was worth every minute of every day and I’d do it all again in a heartbeat.

I guess that’s my unsolicited advice for you all: do your own thing at your own pace, take time for yourself, and still find time for those you love, enjoy the little things in the slow lane.

-J

Leave a Reply

